• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Wizard Rock coming to the South Side

The Whomping Willows and Justin Finch-Fletchley come to the South Side for a free, one-night only concert on Tuesday, May 20 at 6:30 pm.  If you are a long time fan or just curious to see what wizard rock is all about, you’ll want to be there! 

Jeanne, South Side

Book Meme!!

I love meme’s! What’s a meme, you might ask? Well, according to dictionary.com, it’s “a cultural item that is transmitted by repetition in a manner analogous to the biological transmission of genes.”  In blogland, it’s often used to refer to surveys and things that make their way across the internet, being filled out by people all over the world. Below is a meme I found on a teen volunteer’s blog (Katie Cullen Reads - go there for book reviews, too) that I couldn’t resist. Do you feel the same? Then fill it out and post it as a comment!

Karen, Teen Services Coordinator

Books mentioned in this meme:

Dune by Frank Herbert  The Lark and the WrenEmily of New Moon     Suite Scarlett     Kite Runner     Secret Garden              

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews? Honestly?
Dune by Frank Herbert. I read a lot of Science Fiction and Fantasy, and ever since I was a little kid people have asked me if I’ve read Dune and, when I say no, told me that I have to read it. I don’t like being told what to do, so I haven’t! And I probably never will.

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be?
That is a tough one! I think that I would love to go camping (preferably somewhere with running water and swimming, but very few people) with Rune from The Lark and the Wren by Mercedes Lackey, Emily from Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery, and Spencer from Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson. (Note: that last one is kind of a stopgap because I can’t think of anyone else right now, and I reserve the right to change my answers were this mythical camping trip to ever actually take place.)

 (Borrowing shamelessly from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): you are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realize it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave?
Almost anything by Jane Austen (please don’t hate me).

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it?
At work, I do a lot of “I haven’t read that but I hear it’s good.” I try really hard not to say I’ve read something that I haven’t, especially if I’m recommending it to someone else! However, it is true that many people think I’ve read The Kite Runner by Khaled Husseini, when in fact that is not the case.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realize when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book?
I’m sure there has, although I can’t think of anything right now. What happens far more often (far too often) is that I start a book and, a few chapters in, realize that I’ve read it before.

You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Advisor to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (If you feel like you’d have to know the person, go ahead and personalize the VIP.)
The world would be a better place if everyone read The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. And if this VIP doesn’t want to read a book about the healing power of friendship and nature, I don’t want to work for him/her anyway.

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with? 

I think I’ll go with Russian. It’s such a neat language, and I’ve heard that all those classic Russian novels are much better in the original language.

A mischievous fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick?
Uh…there are several books I reread at least once a year already, so I’ll go with The Secret Garden (seriously, people, it’s the best book ever). If you’re curious, some other books I read and reread are Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis (and once I read that one, I usually have to reread the whole series), The Lark and the Wren by Mercedes Lackey and Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

