• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Where am I?

Last week I was two hours early for one appointment, twenty minutes late for work, showed up for a party a week early, and went to the completely wrong school to give a presentation. I thought this blog was due today, when really it was due last Monday. I didn’t know March had five Mondays. I would not say I am a terribly organized person, but I’m usually not this bad. So what gives?

At first, I thought it was daylight savings time. Maybe I am still an hour behind? However, that doesn’t explain showing up an entire week early for something. And wouldn’t I be an hour late for work? My husband, in an effort to help me, gave me an iPod Touch. I promptly bought the Organizer app and promptly failed to ever enter anything into it. I bought a datebook. It would work great if I could ever find it. This weekend, I picked up a large desk calendar. I hope this will work for me. I work every day, so this will be in front of me every day. I can’t lose it because it will never leave my desk. I’ll keep you updated (as long as April only has four Mondays.)

In the meantime, if you are suffering from the same organizational disability as me, here are some good resources to help you get it together.

Where’s My Stuff: The Ultimate Teen Organizing Guide by Samantha Moss with Professional Teen Organizer Leslie Schwartz

Separated by tabs into sections such as School Stuff, Time and Activities, and Your Room this easy to use guide has advice on creating an organizational system that fits your personality, managing your time, and even has a section devoted to getting your closet in order.

 

Organizing from the Inside Out for Teens by Julie Morgenstern and Jessi Morgenstern-Colon

Subtitled The Foolproof System for Organizing Your Room, Your Time, and Your Life, the first chapter of this book has a quiz aimed at figuring out what you need to organize. Is your school stuff always in order, but you can never find two matching shoes? Are your photos alphabetically filed by date, but you haven’t seen your backpack in two months? Inside Out will help you focus on the areas you need help.

Life List for Teens by Pamela Espeland

Unlike the other two organizing books for teens, this book is completely in list form. Easy to flip through and scan, this books offers advice on everything from quitting smoking to shopping online to taking notes in class. There is also a section devoted completely to Health and Wellness, which is lacking in most time management literature. I am saving a list called 10 Tips for Procrastinators for later.

Some other useful books, although not specifically written for teens:

 Look at that! I’m finished with my blog post. And it’s only a week late. *sigh*

-suzy from Knoxville

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

