• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

My First Post

Hi everyone, I’m Denise.  Like Michael, I’m new to CLPTeensburgh, but I’ve been working at the library for a while.  For the last few years, I’ve been a part of the Job and Career Education Center (JCEC), where you can get help with standardized tests, the college application process, starting a job search, and more.  I also occasionally work in the Main library Teen department, and I write for Eleventh Stack, the Main library’s adult services blog.

My hobbies include crocheting, mod-podging stuff to other stuff, and generally being crafty.  I love all kinds of music, and will listen to pretty much anything.  It helps that I recently discovered the awesome randomness of CoolTV, and  Pandora.  And of course, I read a lot.  I just finished the graphic novel Ghostopolis, and I’m excited to hear that Hugh Jackman’s turning it into a movie.  Before that I read The Lying Game, the first book in a new thriller / mystery series by Sara Shepard.  And before that I read Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson, in which Tyler, a high school student, struggles with popularity, family pressure, and the consequences of having a bad reputation.

Well, that’s enough about me for now.  I have to save something to talk about in my next post.  In the meantime, I’m very happy to be a part of this blog, and I look forward to getting to know you all better.

Until next month…!

-Denise

buzz buzz with Burgh Bees and other Bee resources

Bees get a bad rap. If I had a nickel for every time I heard that the “killer bees were migrating from Mexico” and that they’d reach us soon and KILL US, I’d probably have around 85 cents (which is about enough for a modest tip at the coffee shop). Unfortunately, I don’t know how to collect that money, so I’m writing this blog post instead.

Like I said, bees get a bad rap. It must be the stingers. Nobody really likes to be stung by a bee (and that’s understandable) but, let’s be real, if you were stung, you were probably asking for it. Bees only sting when threatened–they’d much rather get to work, collecting pollen, and farming that oh-so-good honey.

Honestly, we hurt bees far more frequently than they hurt us. According to Burgh Bees, “Bees have been struggling in recent years due to many unnatural stresses which include habitat disruption, monocultural and genetically engineered food provisions, and invasive pathogens and parasites.” (http://www.burghbees.com)

Luckily, here in Pittsburgh we’re experiencing an urban farming and beekeeping boom! A wonderful organization called Burgh Bees is here to teach us how to help the bees and in so doing, help ourselves. This is their Mission Statement:

“To educate beekeepers and promote beekeeping as a vital part of sustainable agriculture in Pittsburgh and its suburbs.”

You see, bees are pollinators and that’s good because we need plants for oxygen! (Flowers are just pretty, too.) So let’s help the bees by following Burgh Bees plan.

A Four Point Plan to Help Bees:

  1. Plant a pollinator garden. Check out the Penn State Pollinator Friendly Gardening for ideas here.
  2. Don’t use pesticides or insecticides! Bees are environmental mops and these chemicals compromise their health.
  3. Buy local honey to support local beekeeping.
  4. Become a beekeeper!

If you’re not quite ready for that step, why don’t you check out some of these bee resources?

Books

Clan Apis by Jay Hosler, PH. D. – This graphic novel provides information about the life cycle and environment of honeybees through the story of Nyuki, from the hive called Clan Apis, as she matures from a larva into an adult bee and takes on more responsibilities within her community.

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Beekeeping by Dean Stiglitz – The title says it all, right? This book is a great primer, giving you the scoop on all aspects of beekeeping.



Beekeeping for Fun & Profit: everything you need to know explained simply by Cindy Belknap - Similar to the Idiot’s guide, but with lots of information on how to turn your hobby into $$$. A great new guide!



Websites
The Beesource
Burgh Bees
BeeEducation.com
Brushy Mountain Bee Farm

Corey
CLP-Main

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

