• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

My First Post too!

Hello all!
 
Allow me to introduce myself—I am Julie Moore, the new children’s and teen librarian at CLP Beechview. I will be blogging regularly, so I thought I’d tell you a little about myself first.  
 
So, me—this is my first official library job since I finished grad school. Before this, I worked as a bank teller for PNC (and before that, I worked a number of unfulfilling and unenjoyable jobs)—and I can truly say that there is no better line of work than being a librarian. I am married to my complete opposite and, together, we work to contain the madness that is my dog and my cat. Hobbies include reading (imagine that), obsessing over film (especially who is going to be cast to star in two of my current favorite series, The Hunger Games  (Jennifer Lawrence will rock as Katniss, btw) and The Mortal Instruments  (100% team Alex Pettyfer for Jace), and going to concerts (Lady Gaga = the best night ever.) 
 
 
I am fanatical about teen literature. And when I say fanatical, I mean, I live for it. Especially, especially teen fantasy/sci fi. Current favs include the two I mentioned above, as well as Tiger’s Curse (go read it, seriously, it won’t disappoint), Incarceron, and Matched (to name a few). That about encompasses the interesting parts of my life; I look forward to blogging with you all!
 
To leave you with some interesting news– two new movies have been slated to film in Pittsburgh.  Upper St. Clair native Stephen Chbosky’s book The Perks of Being a Wallflower (which is set to star Logan Lerman and Emma Watson) and Still I Rise, an educational drama from Daniel Barnz, the director of Beastly. These films will join the likes of The Silence of the Lambs, She’s Out of My League, and last year’s Unstoppable and The Next Three Days, among many, many others.                                         
 
So, you ask, why Pittsburgh? Pittsburgh offers a film tax credit program, which tenders a small break to the budgets of the films made here. Outside of seeing our awesome city on the big screen, having films made in Pittsburgh boosts our economy too. Last year, with three big films made in Pittsburgh, we saw over $100 million go to our region!
 
Have a desire to be on the big screen? The Pittsburgh Film Office is looking for extras for The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Check it out here!
 
That’s all for this round of blogging. Thanks for reading!
 
-Julie, CLP Beechview

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

