• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • August 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

I’m more Clark Kent than Superman.

You may never find the time in your life to write a memoir but everyone can write a six-word memoir. That is the basic premise behind the blog turned book series Six-Word Memoirs. Each book has hundreds of authors, both famous and obscure, who have all written their memoirs with one common theme: six words.

As I Can’t Keep My Own Secrets: Six Word Memoirs by Teens Famous and Obscure states:

“The idea of telling an entire story in half a dozen words dates back to Ernest Hemingway. Legend has it that this great American writer was once challenges to write a whole novel in just six words. He came back with “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

I recently borrowed all four six-word memoir books to read them again! Some are funny and satirical, others are melancholy and serious. Here are a few of my favorites and the links to order them for yourself!

According to Facebook, we broke up.

 Always forgetting to bring an umbrella.

Texting in class, lost my phone.

I know they wanted a boy.

Falling apart because Dad’s in jail.

He preferred buddies, buddy preferred me.

Degree in English, I sell furniture.

What’s you life story in six words?

-Michael (CLP Hazelwood)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

