• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Dreaming of 2012 – great books being published in 2012

I just read an article by Lev Grossman (author of The Magicians and The Magician King, both of which I enjoyed immensely) about the seven books he’s looking forward to next year.  Sounded like a good idea to me, so here we go!

(Please note: most of these are too far out to be in our catalog yet.  Keep checking, though…I’m sure we’ll order them all for the Library, and you can request them as soon as we do.)

8 Books I’m Looking Forward to in 2012

(I did 8 instead of 7 because prime numbers scare me a little.)

8. Intentions by Deborah Heiligman (release date 8/14/2012)

I don’t know very much about this book.  However, I do know that Deborah Heiligman won the new nonfiction award a couple of years ago for the very fabulous Charles and Emma, and I can’t wait to see what she does with fiction.  The description from the publisher makes this sound like a suspenseful coming of age story with a plot that relates to the main characters Judaism, which sounds fascinating.

7. Innocent Darkness by Suzanne Lazear (release date 8/12/2012)

This is another one I don’t know anything about.  However, it appears to be steampunk and involve faeries and reform school.  And do you see that cover? Gorgeous!



6. Various Positions by Martha Schabas (release date 2/14/2012)

Another new author, another great cover, another book I don’t know much about.  Various Positions received a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly, though, and was also well-received by VOYA.

I was never a dancer, at least not after I quit ballet when I was six, but I’ve always been fascinated by what dancers go through for their art.  I think I’ll really enjoy this book about a 14-year-old Canadian ballerina with a dysfunctional family.

5. Fever by Lauren DeStefano (release date 2/21/2012)

I picked up Wither, the first book in DeStefano’s Chemical Garden trilogy, based solely on its cover.  However, the story of a dystopian society where life ends — literally — at age 20 sucked me in.  I’m looking forward to reading more about Rhine’s quest to avoid her arranged marriage (when everyone dies young, everyone must marry and have children young, too) and her search for her brother in this sequel.

4. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen (release date 2/14/2012)

You know the story of Robin Hood, right? About Robin and his merry men, robbing from the rich to give to the poor?  Then try this on for size: what if Will Scarlet isn’t actually a dapper young man, but a young woman who is a skilled pickpocket with a dark secret? That’s the premise in Scarlet, and it’s GREAT.

Oh, I should probably tell you that it’s a bit honest to say I’m looking forward to Scarlet.  I’ve already read it, thanks to Walker Children’s and Netgalley.com, but I am looking forward to hearing what everyone else thinks of it.

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Okay, full disclosure: I’ve read this one, too. And I really liked it.  And I hate when I’m already fiending for the sequel before the first volume’s even been released!

This is a retelling of the Cinderella story, complete with the evil stepmother, the handsome prince and the glass slipper.  The twist is that, instead of being a human girl, this Cinder is a cyborg, forced to work for her stepmother and blamed when her stepsister gets sick.  A thinking, feeling mind inside the body of a machine…

This one reminds me a bit of Windup Girl, a novel written for adults by Paolo Bacigalupi.  You’ll see more about him further down the list.

2. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (release date 1/10/2012)

This is by John Green. I love John Green and pretty much everything he’s ever done, either alone or with someone else.  I’m sure this will be awesome.  Not to mention that Lev Grossman said “I can see this book sitting next to Catcher in the Rye,” which is high praise indeed.


1. Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi (release date 5/1/2012)

OMG, this is going to come out right before my birthday! There’s no cover image available, but this follow-up (companion, not sequel) to Printz Award-winning Shipbreaker is the book that I’m most looking forward to in 2012.  Shipbreaker was everything good about sci-fi/dystopia, and Drowned Cities, I’m sure, will be at least as good.

Happy Reading,

Karen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

