• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Happy Seward’s Day!!

You probably have never heard of Seward’s Day. I had never heard of it until a few days ago when I was looking for odd holidays that happen in March (like Girl Scout Day on March 12th or Make Up Your Own Holiday Day on March 25th). One of those odd holidays was Seward’s Day, which celebrates the purchase of Alaska from Russia in 1867. William H. Seward was the US Secretary of State who negotiated the deal, so the day is known as Seward’s Day. I do remember that the purchase of Alaska was originally called ‘Seward’s Folly’ because some people thought $7 million was too much to pay for such a barren wasteland. I guess Seward was right though as Alaska has provided the United States with lots of natural resources, Jewel, and the TV show Northern Exposure.

I am choosing to write about Alaska though because it has been my dream vacation destination for as long as I can remember. I actually prefer to not leave the house (or at least the western Pennsylvania region), but if I could travel somewhere Alaska would be my choice. I have always thought that Alaska was beautiful and majestic and would be a cool place to visit. I’ve always dreamed of seeing the glaciers, flyfishing, and visit Denali National Park. Plus, I love seafood and Alaska probably has some awesome fresh seafood! I even know where I would stay- the Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge near Denali National Park. Maybe some day I’ll be able to visit and then I can blog about my adventures! Until then have a great Seward’s Day and keep dreaming of your own fantasy vacation!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

