• CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Drama: Not Just for Theater Kids

I have a confession to make.
In my first two years of college I fell into a shifty and dangerous crowd.  It happened totally by accident.   Before I even knew what happened I had become…

A Theater Nerd!

If you know me, you know I possess pretty much the opposite personality of the over the top, flamboyant one many people associate with Drama Freaks and Theater Nerds.   I make it a point to avoid drama in all aspects of my life, not surround myself with it.
This all got started when I applied for some random jobs as a part of the work study program at college.  Somehow I landed a job in our university theater department’s scene shop.  We built scenes for tons of plays and musical productions.  And while I was sometimes confused and embarrassed by my co-worker’s propensity to break into song and dance loudly and in public, it was pretty fun.
In Raina Telgemeier’s new graphic novel Drama I was able to relive a little of that dramatic spirit.  Telgemeier tells the story of Callie a theater fanatic and her group of friends and fellow drama geeks.  There’s romance and intrigue and the illustrations are fun and engaging.

drama

If you check out Drama and have an urge to read more theater centered books check out  these titles.

My-Life-the-Theater-and-Other-TragediesSpinningOutCovermy-invented-life

Brooke

CLP-South Side

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

