• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

It’s a Curly Life

Have you ever had a bad hair day? My life used to be full of them, peppered with the occasional hair-related apocalypse.

Why? Because I have curly hair.

I used to wash, dry, cut, and style my hair just the way my straight-haired friends and family members did, and then wondered why my hair was frizzy and ridiculous. 

curly_girl2Then in 2006 I read a book called Curly Girl by Lorraine Massey with Deborah Chiel, and I learned that you can’t just treat curly hair as if it were straight and expect fabulous results. I used to think my and I learned that my hair just plain hideous, but it turns out that it just needed some special treatment. Some tips from this book include:

  • Don’t wash your hair every day. Shampoo strips all the natural oils from your hair and makes it dry and frizzy.
  • Let your hair air-dry instead of using a blow-dryer.
  • Don’t brush your hair, because it will separate your curls and result in lots and lots of frizz.
  • Find a stylist who knows how to work with curly hair.

Me and my hair are friends now; I’m no longer trying to oppress it, and it’s no longer trying to embarrass me. It’s so nice not to have to worry about what sinister plan my hair will come up with next!

Curly Girl and these other great resources. Don’t be surprised if you fall in love with your hair afterwards!

hairrules2Hair Rules! The Ultimate Hair Care Guide for Women with Kinky, Curly, or Wavy Hair by A. Dickey. 

 

 

 

curltalk1Curl Talk: Everything You Need to Know to Love and Care for Your Curly, Kinky, Wavy, or Frizzy Hair by Ouidad

 

 

Great video from Ford model Maiysha on how to deal with curly hair:

 Naturally Curly (website)

Follow the Curly Girl Method for Curly Hair (website)

~Eva (CLP-Knoxville)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

