• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • October 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Writer’s Block…I Haz It

writers-block

I am experiencing writer’s block.

First thing this morning, the calendar on my email popped up a reminder — “CLPTEENSBURGH BLOG POST!”

“Oh, dear,” I thought, “I don’t have anything to write about.  I’ll do it later.”

I then continued about my day.

Well, it is now 4:18 PM.  The day is almost over.  I will be going home in about an hour, settling down to an evening of doing laundry, writing book reviews, and watching last night’s Heroes (best show ever, btw) with my husband.  And I still don’t have anything to write about.

I thought about talking about the continuing crisis the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh is in, since the state finally announced a new budget that decreases the public library subsidy by over 20% and cuts the Access PA line item (from which a lot of our databases, and all of the databases to which a lot of school and smaller public libraries have access are paid) to practically nothing.  But I decided not to talk about that — Tina wrote such an eloquent post about the announcement that libraries are closing last week, and there’s been news, news and more news about it all over the place.  But that’s just so SAD . . . incidentally, if you hang out at CLP – Main and want to help staff an information table, you should contact Tara Goe at goet@carnegielibrary.org.

Then I thought about telling you about the awesome author I’ve just started reading, on my dad’s recommendation, who has a series about an alternate timeline when, in the late 1990s, some cataclysmic event resulted in all technology (including gun powder and dynamite) stopped working.  By the way, did you know that there’s a whole subject heading for books like that? They’re under Regression (Civilization) – Fiction.  I’m really loving this series, because you know I love dystopias, but then I remembered that Tina and I had both blogged about them recently so I should probably keep my mouth shut about them for awhile.  Don’t want to bore our readers by blogging about the same things over and over again, which is the same reason I don’t want to write about:

  • Behind the Book: Authors Talk to Teens with D.J. MacHale — even though it’s coming up on Wednesday, October 21st, I just wrote about it a couple weeks ago.  If you guys haven’t registered for it yet, well, you’re probably not going to.
  • Banned Books Week.  It’s over, I blogged about it VERY recently (and, incidentally, got emails from several colleagues saying not to engage the guy who posted that comment, but HE NEVER RESPONDED).  Who cares that the website’s still up, and people can still enter the contest?  Not me! (Sarcasm? What sarcasm?)
  • Steampunk.  Eva talked about Steampunk just last week, so even though it’s Steampunk Month over at Tor‘s website (one of my favorite publishers, incidentally) I can’t tell you about it.

So you see my dilemma? I have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to write about.  Oh, no…it’s 5:00, and I have some things I NEED to get done before I go out and visit Pittsburgh Montessori for Teen Read Week tomorrow…I guess I’ll just have to go without posting today.

Hey…wait a minute…

Karen

Teen Services Coordinator

One Response

  1. haa haa.. very entertaining.. i know how u feel.. try taking a break and watching movies when u feel constipated.. mentally that is 🙂

Leave a Reply

