• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Get some Eyre

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte is about a young orphan who, unwanted by her wealthy Aunt and cousins, is sent to a boarding school where she is starved and abused. When she is eighteen she escapes the only way she can–by taking a position as a governess. She moves to Thornfield Hall and develops a relationship with her employer, the enigmatic Mr. Rochester. For the first time in her life Jane  is happy, but then Mr. Rochester’s dark secrets catch up with him, and Jane might lose everything.

I really love Jane Eyre.  I own four copies of the book: a paperback for everyday use, a 1943 edition with awesome woodcut illustrations for special occasions,  one in Spanish for when I feel like reading it in Spanish, and a graphic novel version. I hope to someday add a first edition to my collection; incidentally, my birthday is in April;)

I also own three different film versions.

Ok, you guys; I might have a problem.

And today, in the age of sequels, prequels, and mashups, there is even more Eyre for me to love.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

Adele: Jane Eyre’s Hidden Story by Emma Tennant

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

Jane Eyre’s Daughter by Elizabeth Newark

and (drumroll please)…

Jane Slayre by Sherri Browning Irwin!

Guess what I will be reading when I go on vacation next week?

~Eva, CLP-Allegheny

2 Responses

  1. Eva, Have you ever read – H: The Story of Heathcliff’s Journey Back to Wuthering Heights by Lin Haire-Sargeant. Talk about mashup! It’s ties together in a very believable and slick way the Bronte sisters, and Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights all in one nice package. Enjoyed your post. I read very few books more than once…Jane Eyre being the rare exception at 3 times. My favorite movie version is 1996 version directed by Franco Zeffirelli with William Hurt as Rochester and Charlotte Gainsbourg as Jane in that it is very true to the book. Timothy Dalton was the best Rochester in the BBC version.

    • Yes, I have read H. I thought it was really good! I totally agree with you about Timothy Dalton being the best Mr. Rochester–but Orson Welles comes in a close second. And I’m very excited about the new movie version that’s coming out in 2011!

Leave a Reply

