• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Teen review: Angles by The Strokes


My name is Isaiah. I go to CAPA for theater, and I guess that’s okay. I do a lot of music stuff outside of school. I play bass and do some rapping too. Also, I’m always up for any review recommendations, so if there’s anything you want me to review, just let me know and I’ll check it out.

Angles by The Strokes

Today I will be reviewing another Strokes album, their brand new one, Angles. Although I have reviewed The Strokes before, I hadn’t gotten into them until right before this album came out, so this sort of was what got me into The Strokes. Today, I think I’ll go track by track because this album has so many different sounds that I couldn’t do it justice by only doing a few.

The first track is called Machu Picchu. I’m really digging the sound of this one, it’s very light-hearted and cool. As I’ve said before I look for the opening track to draw me in and make me want to continue listening to the album which is what this one does.

The next one we hear is the single, Under Cover of Darkness. When reviewing The Strokes in the past I said that they always choose the greatest singles, this still applies here. This is one of my favorites on the album and one of my favorite Strokes song in general. It opens with a very cool and unique sound and as it goes on it just gets better.

The next one is a track called Two Kinds of Happiness. This isn’t my favorite track on the album but it features some of Julian Casablancas best singing I’ve ever heard. And it is far from bad, just not my favorite, still fun to listen to.

The next track is called You’re So Right. This opens with a cool bass line that really adds to the song. One thing that I like is how there are some parts where the bass line (which is really cool in itself) is playing while the guitar is doing some crazy stuff.

The next song is called, Taken For a Fool. This is one of my favorite tracks on the album, I’m not sure, there’s just something about it that is really fun to listen to. The chorus is also really good in my opinion, very fun to groove to.

The next track is called Games. It starts off really simple, but then this bass line comes in that really draws the listener in. It then goes to an amplified version of the simple part for the chorus, which is really cool.

The next song is called Call me Back. I’m really digging the tone of this story. It’s a little softer (although The Strokes are far from heavy) and it adds something new the album. It’s also has a good bit of structure, and each piece is really cool, so this is a good one to me.

The next song is called Gratisfaction. Now if you were to ask around this is almost undoubtedly the best song on the album. It’s extremely fun to jam to and if you listen to one song on the album, I say either listen to this, or the single, Under Cover of Darkness.

The next track s called Metabolism, I’m really diggin this one too, the instruments are doing some really cool stuff and the singing goes extremely well and is fun to listen to.

The last song is called, Life is Simple in the Moonlight. This song also has a little bit of a softer tone at first, it doesn’t take away from the song at all though. It leads up to an extremely cool chorus, it’s really fun to listen to.

So all in all I believe this was a really good album, maybe not The Strokes best but still really good. It’s definitely worth checking out and you can of course get it here at the library. So I’ll give Angles a strong 8.5/10.

Leave a Reply

