• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Where do you get your news?

I don’t often turn on the news. I don’t read the newspaper.

I shield my two small children from the constant barrage of televised fires the local news channels seem to broadcast.

I prefer US weekly to Newsweek.

So when something big happens my source for updates is online social media.

That’s right.

I heard about Osama Bin Laden’s death through my friend’s many posts on Facebook.

I didn’t stay up late to watch the President’s speech but I did watch it on Youtube the next day.

So, where do you get your news? Where do you learn about current events? Do you follow any particular blogs that keep you up to date? Any favorites on Twitter?

To conclude, I want to share with you this quote from Martin Luther King. One of my friends posted it as her status update and I also saw it in the comments of the Youtube video I linked to above.

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

UPDATE: The above quote is not from Martin Luther King, Jr. Atleast not all of it. According to this article in The New Yorker the words are those of Jessica Dovey who quoted Martin Luther King, Jr’s words, “Returning hate for hate mutliplies hate,” in a post on Facebook. The rest of the words are hers. I still like the sentiment though and glad her words have been so widely circulated.

 

One Response

  1. A lovely sentiment, indeed.

Leave a Reply

