• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • adventure advocacy art BEDA booklist books bullying carnegie library of pittsburgh clp CLP - Main CLP programs college comic books comics community contest contests cooking crafts death DIY dystopia events fantasy fashion fiction film films Food football free games gaming graphic novel graphic novels halloween health high school hip hop history holidays horror hunger games lgbtq library manga money movie movies Music photography pittsburgh poetry programs reading recipes review reviews sci-fi science science fiction sports steelers summer technology teen teen bloggers teens Teen Summer Reading travel video video games volunteering winter writing

Summer Means Graphic Novels

Okay, so I read graphic novels all year.  But I think they’re perfect for those hot, lazy days when a plain wall of text would put me to sleep.  Since half (or more) of the story is in the illustrations, I can usually follow along even when my brain is melting.  I can read most of them in one sitting if I want to, but they’re also easy to pick up and put down.  And they count for Teen Summer Reading, which means that you’re eligible for fabulous prizes for reading them.

Here are some things I’ve read recently, and one I’m looking forward to —

Robot Dreams by Sara Varon

Dog wants a friend, so he builds Robot.  Things couldn’t be better… until they go to the beach and Robot rusts.  Dog can’t think of a way to help his friend, so he reluctantly leaves.  And before Dog can come rescue Robot, the beach closes for the winter.  What can they do?

A.L.I.E.E.E.N. by Lewis Trondheim

The author claims to have found this book while hiking in the mountains.  There are no words in it — at least, none from Earth.  And yet you can still understand the  aliens’ weird adventures, including going to the doctor, hunting each other, and running from a tidal wave of alien poop.

Pinocchio: Vampire Slayer by Van Jensen

I reviewed this on Eleventh Stack last week, but I love it so much I wanted to make sure I told you guys about it too.

“Soon after the original Pinocchio story ended, vampires moved into the area and killed Gepetto.  Of course, nobody believed Pinocchio, so he took vengeance into his own hands, and became a vampire slayer. You see, to drive a stake through their hearts, all he had to do was lie…”

Dragon Puncher by James Kochalka

Dragon Puncher is a cat, and also a knight.  Spoony-E is his baby-faced sidekick.  Together they take on a dangerous dragon.  Not only is this book hilarious by itself, it makes me want to photoshop me and my friends into our own cartoon adventures.

(Dragon Puncher cover photo courtesy of Top Shelf Productions)

21: The Story of Roberto Clemente by Wilfred Santiago

This is the one I haven’t read yet, but I’m looking forward to it.  Everyone I know has been talking it up lately, including Corey’s review on this very blog.  And really, what goes better with summer than baseball?

Do you like graphic novels too?  You may be interested in the graphic novel discussion group at the Main Library in Oakland.  It’s called Out of the Gutter, and it’s for adults and teens who want to hang out with fellow graphic novel fans and talk about independent and new releases.

-Denise