• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Teen review (modern classic edition) : The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My name is Jenna. I go to a high school where I’m part of the marching band and the cheerleading squad. I’m pretty busy, but I always find time to read. I’m also very creative and I like doing little crafts out of random things I find.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I decided to read the Hunger Games because I kept hearing how good of a book it was. When I first read the description, I didn’t think I would even like it or actually end up reading the book. This book definitely deserves all of the hype it’s getting because it’s an excellent story!

Katniss Everdeen is the main character. She lives in District 12, the poorest district of all 12 districts. They are the coal-mining district, and they are looked down upon by the rest of Panem (their country). She is a very independent girl. Katniss is the one who takes care of her mother and sister by hunting illegally in the woods and trading what she hunts for items that she can put on the table at dinnertime. She is rough and probably stronger than most boys in her district.

But, the Hunger Games is right around the corner. Every year, two tributes from each of the 12 districts of Panem, 24 kids in all, are taken from their homes and put into a game where they have to kill each other to win. Whoever is the last person standing, wins, and becomes rich after. And the whole thing is broadcast on television throughout Panem.

Against all odds, Katniss’ little sister is picked to participate in the Hunger Games, and Katniss is so surprised and appalled that she offered to take her sister’s place.

Throughout the book, you are taken on this crazy wild journey to the Hunger Games with Katniss and the other District 12 tribute, Peeta. Read the book to experience the frightening and fast-paced game that these two teens have to go through.

One Response

  1. Great review for a great book! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and I really hope it gets people to pick up The Hunger Games 🙂

Leave a Reply

