• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Recent Books That Caught My Eye

Summer is the best time to read because you can read anything that you desire.  It is not too late to sign up for Teen Summer Reading.  Don’t forget to add the books that you have already read this summer to your book log.

500 Health and Fitness Tips

I just completed a ten week fitness walking program, so Seventeen Presents 500 Health and Fitness Tips:  Eat Right, Work Out Smart, and Look Great!  attracted my attention right away.  Sorry guys, but this book is for girls.  This is not a diet book!  This chunky (no pun intended) little book is chock full of great tips on how to get into shape and how to eat to stay healthy and fit.  Tip #399–don’t ditch cookies (I love this book!), but stick to made-from-scratch cookies, and add in healthy nuts and dried fruit for an even better treat!  Check out these two great sections:

  1. Work out in the park:  tone your whole body and get some fresh air with this strength routine by celeb fitness trainer Radu Teodorescu.
  2. Get ready for tryouts:  start this pre-season workout also by celebrity trainer Radu Teodorescu 3 weeks before your sports tryouts and you’ll run faster, jump higher–and make the team!

The next book is The Accidental Genius of Weasel High by Rick Detorie.  Larkin Pace is a 14 year old aspiring (and frustrated) filmmaker that is working on a project for his English class.  This book can be described as part regular novel and part graphic novel.  Some have called it an illustrated novel.  I will declare it as super funny with lots of great pop culture and film references.

Here is Larkin’s  list of “TEN THINGS THAT BUG ME ABOUT MY SISTER” (pages 70-71).

10.  She goes ballistic whenever I touch her stuff.

9.  She leaves the stuff I’m not supposed to touch everywhere.

8.  She borrows my stuff without ever asking.

7.  She rolls her eyes at everything I say.

6.  She and her friends giggle whenever I pass by.

5.  She pasted little heart stickers all over my skateboard.

4.  She put lime gelatin in my favorite shoes.

3.  She posts dorky pictures of me on the Web and forwards them to her friends.

2.  She always gets her way.

1.  Actually, everything about her bugs me.  Seriously.

The Accidental Genius of Weasel High

Consider the scenerio where you are a senior in high school and looking forward to heading off to college.  “It’s Daisy Crispin’s final semester of high school, and she plans to make it count.  Her long-awaited freedom is mere months away, and her big plans for college loom in the future.  Everything is in control.  Or is it?”

Check out Perfectly Invisible by Kristen Billerbeck.

“I miss Gil.  I want men in my life who know how to get what they want, who aren’t afraid to stand up for what they believe in, even if it makes them unpopular.  I wish I knew if either Chase or Max was that kind of guy.  But right  now, they both seem like luminous wimps to me.  Which makes looking forward to college all the more important to me.  Somehow I hope that everything will be different there, that my life will change with a new venue.”  (page 123)

Perfectly Invisible

I was also intriged by Eva’s recent book suggestion: How They Croaked:  The Awful Ends of the Awfully Famous.    A great and fun book for browsing this summer.

~Marian, CLP–Mt. Washington

Please share your favorite books that you have read this summer!

Leave a Reply

