• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Letters of Note – a blog of note

What is Letters of Note? It’s a blog–a really cool blog that I think you’ll like. According to the blog’s creator Shaun Usher, Letters of Note “is an attempt to gather and sort fascinating letters, postcards, telegrams, faxes, and memos.” Lots of these letters were written by famous (and infamous) people: movie stars, presidents, authors, etc.

For instance, here’s an amazing love letter that American artist Rockwell Kent sent to his wife in 1926 (for the Letters of Note post, click HERE):

Frances! I am so lonely I can hardly bear it. As one needs happiness so have I needed love; that is the deepest need of the human spirit. And as I love you utterly, so have you now become the whole world of my spirit. It is beside and beyond anything that you can ever do for me; it lies in what you are, dear love — to me so infinitely lovely that to be near you, to see you, hear you, is now the only happiness, the only life, I know. How long these hours are alone!

Yet is good for me to know the measure of my love and need, that I may at least be brought to so govern myself as never to lose the love and trust that you have given me.

Dear Frances, let us make and keep our love more beautiful than any love has ever been before.

Forever, dearest one.

Thy

Rockwell.

If you enjoy reading this stuff as much as I do, be sure to check Letters of Note regularly–they update every weekday.

– Corey, Digital Learning Librarian

Leave a Reply

