• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Favorite Books for When You’re Sick

This past weekend while the snow was coming down, I was home battling the mid-winter sickness that seems to be plaguing pretty much everybody around this time of year.  It’s the kind of cold that doesn’t seem too terrible symptoms-wise, but that definitely leaves you feeling somewhat off and vaguely terrible.

When I get this kind of cold, all I want to do is curl up in my bed with an old stand-by.  You know, the kind of books that you can (and want) to read over and over again and just make you feel better by turning through the pages?  The kind of books that you’ve read so much you know which parts you can skip to get to the really good parts.  Those are the best for when a cold’s got you down.

Here’s a short annotated list of some of my favorite books to read when I’m sick.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley – This is my all-time favorite vampire novel, and I’ve read quite a few vampire novels in my day.  It’s a stand alone novel from a great author that encapsulates a really fascinating world.  It’s kind of like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, minus high school drama, plus a little more magic and a bakery.  There’s a Big Bad, a brooding hero, and an epic battle at the very end.  Sunshine, the titular character, is a delight to read and always makes me feel better when I’m fighting off the sniffles.


Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George – I love fairy tales, like a lot, and this book is an adaptation off my absolute favorite fairy tale, The Twelve Dancing Princesses.  It’s also a combination of a million other things I love including, the Regency Period, Germany, royal families, strong female heroines, and the hero is a boy who knits.  This book is usually a fast read for me now (since I know it so well) and I can finish it up then still have time to nap away my cold!


Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater – This book is relatively new to my list.  It’s about a girl who feels a strange connection to the wolves that seem to be terrorizing her quiet mid-western town.  I love reading about cold places or people being in the cold while I’m all snug and cozy on the couch or in my bed.  I don’t know why, I think it makes me just feel warmer.  And what’s colder than werewolves in a Minnesota winter?  And, as you might have guessed, I’m a sucker for a good romance, especially when I’m feeling bad.  If you like this one, check out the sequels, Linger and Forever.  But don’t spoil that last one for me!  It’s on my “to read” list.


What are your favorite books to read or things to do when you’re home sick?

-Morgan

One Response

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

