• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Yo, Pittsburgh! Take A Hike!

I have to admit, I really didn’t gain respect for the outdoors and nature until I was well into my 20s.

The first time I ever went on a hike I was 25 years old and I wish I hadn’t waited so long! Since first hiking Mount Nittany, it has become an annual trek I take with friends every July.

Fortunately, you don’t have to go all the way to Happy Valley to spend time outdoors.

Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania are full of parks, trails, hills and mountains that are worth checking out! I highly recommend a trip to the Montour Trail or Racoon Creek State Park.

Even if you can’t make it outside of Pittsburgh, there are plenty of urban trails to check out here in the city, like the Eliza Furnace Trail that connects Schenley Park and Downtown Pittsburgh!

The Library has lots of local hiking guides. Click on the photo to get one today!

Happy Hiking!

-Michael B. (CLP Hazelwood)

One Response

  1. I am quite fond of the Laurel Highlands Hiking Trail which stretches from Ohiopyle to Johnstown. I’ve hiked a little more than half of the 70-some miles over the last year and hope to complete that trail in the next year.

Leave a Reply

