• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • September 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

D-I-Y Now!

According to Wikipedia, “Do it yourself (DIY) is building, modifying, or repairing something without the aid of experts or professionals. . .  In recent years, the term DIY has taken on a broader meaning that covers a wide range of skill sets.”  I love DIY.  I love making my own ice cream, modifying clothing to fit, even helping friends install hot water heaters (which might be less of a DIY project and more of a professional project).

I love learning new things, then showing off the cools things I’ve made with what I’ve learned.  I am also frugal (cheap), so doing certain things myself means that I save money and control the end product.  Doing DIY projects is a good cold weather activity for the times of the year you want to be inside.

I’ve learned, though, that DIY doesn’t mean do it yourself by figuring out how to do it from a blank slate without any help.  My most successful DIY projects have come from step-by-step illustrated guides or videos.  One source that I recommend is the “DIY & Crafts” section of Pinterest.  I also highly recommend using books as resource guides.  Check out some of these titles on how to make your own very cool things.

            

One Response

  1. […] With this momentous occasion comes not only the chance to be finally out of the house, but also new and various opportunities to decorate and organize our place the way we want it to be. And nothing has been as helpful for us as Pinterest.com. Previously, Amy mentioned using Pinterest as a great resource for DIY projects. […]

Leave a Reply

