• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Teen Review-Erebos by Ursula Poznanski

caroline photoHi! I’m Caroline. I’m 17 and a senior at Oakland Catholic. My favorite letter is probably F because it is the first letter of many of my favorite things; for instance: fencing, friends, and Frankenstein. (Best book ever!) I’m somewhat of a grammar freak and an anglophile and I like to fool around with crafts when I get the time. I also like to try to harmonize with songs on the radio. Enjoy my reviews!

6957_Erebos.indd

Erebos by Ursula Poznanski

Colin isn’t showing up at basketball practice.
Not only, that, Nick discovers, but his best friend won’t pick up his phone. And he’s suddenly hanging out with the creepiest guy in school. In fact, he’ll barely talk to Nick.
What’s going on?
Nick gets his chance to find out when he is handed a mysterious CD. Eager to see what it is (he’s sure this is what everyone’s been sneaky about), he loads it onto his computer to discover a game called Erebos. Only it’s more than just fun. It’s so realistic, Nick can’t stop playing. Set in a mystical world, the goal is to become one of the top players – and if you die, you don’t get a second life. Not only that, but the game instructs him to carry out certain tasks in the real world – sometimes dangerous ones – in order to gain levels. The catch is that Nick’s not allowed to speak of the game to anyone – not even other players. But the game is so addicting that Nick keeps playing. He works his way through labyrinths, battles the other players, and blank. He becomes more and more disconnected from the real world – ignoring his grades, his basketball practice, and his family. His friend Jamie tries to help him, but Nick doesn’t want any of it.
Then he is asked by the game to carry out a terrible task in the real world – and when he doesn’t, his character dies, leaving Nick with nothing to do – and nothing to lose. So he breaks the rules that no longer apply – he reveals the game. To find out what happens next, read the book!
I liked this book a lot more than I thought I would. In fact, I was on the edge of my seat reading this, and I often felt that I was the one playing the video game (and worrying about someone catching me!) It was really realistic and suspenseful. You don’t even have to like video games to love this book – put it on your to-read list!

Leave a Reply

