• Recent Posts

  • CLP_Teens

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Categories

  • Archives

  • October 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Beyond the Wall, My Trip to Iceland.

Every time I read a book or watch a movie I learn about another place–whether it’s real like the Galapagos or made up like Westeros in Game of ThronesI’d like to visit.

For years I wanted to travel to Iceland even though I knew very little about the country–glaciers, icebergs, geothermal energy, folklore featuring Thor, trolls and huldufolk (hidden people or elves).  I needed to learn more if I wanted to plan an epic adventure.  The Library had everything I needed!

My first stop was the travel section at CLP – Main.  I checked out Lonely Planet and Frommer’s travel books to learn the basics of Icleandic culture and geography.

Next, I began using Zinio, a service which lets you choose from more than 300 free digital magazines.  These magazines can be read on a computer or mobile device and all you need to get started is your library card number.  I subscribed to National Geographic in the hopes of coming across articles about Iceland.  National Geographic’s digital edition has videos and content from its Instagram feed embedded in its pages!   This discovery lead me to begin following National Geographic on Instagram @natgeo.  Photos like the one below made me even more excited for my trip.

Iceland Instagram

One of my greatest fears when traveling abroad is that I’ll somehow embarrass myself by not knowing any of the native language.  In order to allay this fear, I spent time using Mango Languages, one of the Library’s online language learning resources.  Mango teaches you how to greet others, introduce yourself, introduce someone else, and more.  Don’t want to be tied to your PC?  The Mango App for your iPhone or Android device lets you practice anywhere!

Mango Languages  mango app

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh resources helped me plan for 8 stunning days in Iceland.  Here’s one of my pictures–taken at Vatnajokull National Park where Game of Thrones’  has filmed Beyond the Wall scenes.

Glacial Lagoon

Winter is coming.

Leave a Reply

